A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country

2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...

1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.

Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...

Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

Available in the US in hardcover, audiobook, and ebook at these retailers:

AmazonApple Books | Kobo | B&N | Google Play

Available in Canada in paperback, audiobook, and ebook at these retailers:

Amazon | Apple Books | Kobo | Indigo

Available in the UK in ebook now and available in hardcover and audiobook at these retailers:

Amazon UK | Waterstones | WH Smith

Add The Light Over London on Goodreads

Follow Julia on Goodreads and BookBub

Go deeper and explore The Light Over London with the Reading Group Guide available digitally from Simon & Schuster

Praise for The Light Over London:

An intricate, tender, and convincing tale of war and romance with skill and suspense…This is a bold story of a young woman’s innocence and heartache, and her satisfying discovery of her worth and inner strength. Publisher’s Weekly

Kelly deftly balances intrigue with mystery and historical detail in her latest novel…A charming imagining of the historical gunner girls. Kirkus Reviews

Readers who adore a richly detailed period piece will be immediately drawn in by the world of The Light Over London… Historical romance novelist Julia Kelly has delivered her most elegant effort yet: a deeply rewarding and moving novel. —Apple Books

“Kelly has crafted two convincing, conflicted heroines in Cara and Louise, and the resolution of Louise’s romance is satisfyingly empowering. Hand this to fans of Jennifer Egan’sManhattan Beach (2017) and other tales of the vital roles played by women in wartime.” —Booklist

Explore More editions